Escaping Vista UAC hell

General discussion about Magic Notes.

Escaping Vista UAC hell

Postby rjbull » Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:18 pm

I'm running a user acount under Vista Home Premium with UAC on, like you're supposed to. Every time MN starts, I have to put in the admin password. I've tried several times to set permissions so that I don't have to do that, to no avail. Please, do you have a definitive solution, or at least can point me to one somewhere? Thanks...
rjbull
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:12 am

Re: Escaping Vista UAC hell

Postby karle » Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:09 pm

Hi rjbull,

I did some changes in regard to UAC for V3.5 to allow the application to set the "Start with Windows" setting but it only tries to do that if the setting in the registry is different to what you've specified in the Preferences for Magic Notes. If you go into Preferences and press ok, does it also display the UAC dialog? Have you got some other software preventing Magic Notes from setting the setting perhaps? Some antivirus software is known to try to unset it so perhaps something like that is going on?

Regards,

Karl
karle
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 11:54 pm

Re: Escaping Vista UAC hell

Postby rjbull » Thu Dec 17, 2009 3:42 pm

karle wrote:I did some changes in regard to UAC for V3.5 to allow the application to set the "Start with Windows" setting but it only tries to do that if the setting in the registry is different to what you've specified in the Preferences for Magic Notes.

I noticed a UAChelper.exe in MN's directory... Can't remember what I did now, whether I installed for All Users or just for my user account.
If you go into Preferences and press ok, does it also display the UAC dialog?

Yes - that is, Windows displays its own UAC dialog, not a specific MN one.
Have you got some other software preventing Magic Notes from setting the setting perhaps? Some antivirus software is known to try to unset it so perhaps something like that is going on?

I currently run F-Prot AV, WinPatrol Plus and Online Armor. As far as I know, all are set to allow MN. There aren't any messages from any of them complaining, only the standard Vista UAC dialog.
rjbull
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:12 am

Re: Escaping Vista UAC hell

Postby karle » Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:09 pm

Hi rjbull,

rjbull wrote:I noticed a UAChelper.exe in MN's directory... Can't remember what I did now, whether I installed for All Users or just for my user account.

Yes to be able to do certain things, a executable has to be marked as needing administration privileges which is the purpose of that exe.

rjbull wrote:Yes - that is, Windows displays its own UAC dialog, not a specific MN one.

Yes the UAC dialog always comes from Windows, so that is correct behaviour.

I'd still say there's some software blocking it when its trying to write to the registry which is causing the problem. Does Magic Notes start automatically when you restart the computer or do you have to start it manually? You could always send me the files %APPDATA%\Magic Notes\STICKIES.INI and %APPDATA%\Magic Notes\MNOTES.LOG to support@magicnotes.com and I'll have a look at what is happening, it's possible I can put some more diagnostic code in there to stop it from trying when it fails the first time or something like that.

Regards,

Karl
karle
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 11:54 pm

Re: Escaping Vista UAC hell

Postby rjbull » Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:49 pm

Just e-mailed you what I hope is the relevant data. MN was trying to start with Windows, but UAC always got in the way. Also, if I tried to exit MN via a right-click on the tray, UAC stopped that as well!
rjbull
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:12 am

Re: Escaping Vista UAC hell

Postby rjbull » Wed Feb 17, 2010 2:48 pm

I installed the latest release, MN V3.5 Build 10036, and everything now seems fine :) Many thanks!
rjbull
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:12 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron